About Portsmouth Economic Development

The Economic Development Authority (EDA)

The Economic Development Authority (EDA) of the City of Portsmouth, Virginia is a political subdivision of the Commonwealth of Virginia created by City Council in 1968. The EDA is comprised of seven (7) City Council-appointed Commissioners serving staggered four (4) year terms.   A few of the powers specifically granted to Economic Development Authorities by the General Assembly include the authority to:  acquire or dispose of property at, below or above market value; own or lease property; make loans or grants; and issue Council-approved bonds. The EDA uses its powers to work closely with the Department of Economic Development to attract and retain business and support development in Portsmouth.

​The EDA holds its regular monthly meetings on the 3rd Tuesday of each month at 8:00 AM in the City Council Conference Room on the sixth (6th) Floor of Portsmouth City Hall at 801 Crawford Street.

For more information about serving as a board member, please contact the City Clerk’s office.

Board of Commissioners

Cathy Revell, Chair

Aaron J. Kelley, Vice Chair

Miriam J. Jiggetts, Treasurer

Anthony Hinds

Tracy Link

Don L. Scott